For my Urban Policy junkies- City Council decides on I-277 noise wall

I never get to share my urban policy interests with you guys in a timely manner…my fault. But I wanted to share an interesting story. Tell me what you think about the issue. Do you think safety should come first at the expense of the City’s potential for development and image? Here’s the issue:

Charlotte’s transportation committee will meet Monday to discuss possible noise walls going up along Interstate 77.The 10-foot-tall walls would block out noisy traffic between Interstate 85 and the Brookshire Freeway.

Council still has not made a decision on the issue. The surrounding neighborhoods of Fourth Ward would like options for the noise wall design. They expect to see that in the coming weeks in Council Committee meetings.

stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

