Writer’s Block is Real

Every now and then I feel the need to check in with my readers and let you all know what’s going on with the Blog and with my life. This will only take a couple of minutes. I just need to rehash some of my goals from the beginning of the year and take a second to celebrate my progress.

Writer’s block is real, ya’ll

I struggle with writer’s block every other day and have serious doubts about myself as a writer. Are my topics relevant? Am I too wordy? Do I tell good stories? The best thing to combat this doubt i’ve found out recently is to read daily. In keeping up with my goals to read 50 books this year, I’ve read so many books since my last check in in February. Right now, I’m reading If you have to Cry, Go Outside by Kelly Cutrone and Inferno by Dan Brown. Last month, I read The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (recommended by a QC Placemaker) and Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng. Next month, I really want to read The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae. Gahh! So many good books!

My “yes year” is almost over

This year has been my year for saying yes to (almost) everything proposed to me. A few things I have said yes to include sitting on a nonprofit board, traveling to New Orleans to cover the Essence Music Festival with Blavity.com, starting my Master’s Degree in Communication and creating an extension of the PlaceMakers brand on Instagram. All of these things may seem small to some but to me, they’re huge!

Essence Fest gift bags feat. @aposci crushed bath brick #essencefestival2015 #aposci

A post shared by Rep. Donna Edwards (@missedwardsclt) on

Becoming a better writer

After listening to a particularly captivating episode of the Smart Passive Income Podcast on copywriting, I learned about the importance of copywriting and how to get people engaged in my messages more consistently. I’ve also learned that when you are a writer, you tend to have a diversity of interests. Look at all these contributions I’ve made since January!  

Wine, my alter ego

This year, I got the chance to broaden my media and communication experience into the audio world. I am on Twitter at least 2-3 hours a day and consume so much information! Sometimes it’s good to digest this information in a creative way and we rarely get to talk to our friends candidly anymore but this podcast, Shoes, Kale, Wine, Grits allows me to curate interesting topics and produce fresh content through produced segments, games and interviews. If you haven’t guessed already, I’m Wine and I host the podcast along with three friends. We post a new episode every other Thursday. I can proudly say we are on the 2nd episode. This podcast is my newest baby. And the Facebook page is poppin. Make sure you like the page so you’ll be updated when a new episode is posted.

 11208636_1013969065302488_2674266479387571473_n

TL;DR Writer’s block, My “Yes year” is half way over, I’m becoming a better writer, I’m in national and local publications, My alter ego, Wine, gets her own Podcast!

Thanks for being loyal readers!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

